Advent: Day 4

Christmas Cards

Did your family send cards? Did your family display the ones they received? Do you still send Christmas cards? Do you have any cards from your ancestors?

My parents never sent cards. They worked a lot and had more urgent priorities. Maybe it’s because we didn’t get many so we didn’t feel bad for not reciprocating to many people. Or, then again, maybe we didn’t get many because we didn’t send them out. I’m sure it was a little bit of both. We never got any from my mom’s family, but my dad’s parents as well as a few of his cousins always sent them in spite of the lack of reciprocation and they still do. Now that I’m an adult, I still don’t send them. I’ve had good intentions a few years, but time always got away from me. For the most part; however, I think that in this day of technology and high prices of both postage and quality cards, it’s a waste to send greetings in the words of someone else that won’t even get to the person exactly on Christmas when you can e-mail, call, text, skype or visit with a person on Dec. 24th and 25th for free to send your greetings in your own words.

Of the cards we received, we never kept any beyond the current season and they were never set out. We always thought they just took up space, but now looking back, what I wouldn’t give to have a card from my late maternal grandmother saved. I very strongly suggest keeping a card from each holiday from each person. You never know when that person will no longer be with you and you’ll hold onto that handwriting sample as if it were that person themselves.

One comment

  1. Genealogy Lady

    My mom always writes a holiday letter, a tradition in her family. It is a way to catch up with friends and relatives around the world. I always looked forward to reading some of the letters we received every year as a kid. I never really got into writing a letter with my holiday cards. It somehow felt like bragging. We stopped sending cards last year because it just got too expensive. Spending $50-$70 on cards seemed too much especially when the money could be spent on more practical and necessary things, like groceries and gas. I do display the cards when we do receive them but I am betting that we won’t get as many this year since we did not send any last year. I sent a holiday greeting on Facebook and that was enough. My true friends and family understood why we stopped sending them. Others have recommended (if you have the money to burn) donating the money to a charity instead of wasting it on paper and postage.

Leave a Reply

