Advent: Day 1

I found an interesting Advent Calendar of genealogical blog prompts, so let’s get started! I’ll post the prompt containing questions I want you as my readers to answer, then I’ll post my own.

Christmas Trees

Did you have a real tree or was it artificial? How big was the tree? Who decorated the tree? What types of Christmas trees did your ancestors have?

 

When I was a child (under 12), we actually had 2 trees. One upstairs and one down. Both were real. I remember one year we even put fake snow on the downstairs one. After my dad left; however, mom didn’t want the mess of a tree so we got a fake one. Now her only tree is a small table top one that actually stays up year round.

When I was very small, I remember helping decorate the tree, but it was never a fun job so my mom eventually ended up with the job. I suppose that’s why she doesn’t mess with the tree now.

My grandparents had polar opposite trees. My paternal grandparents always had a big, beautiful real tree. My grandpa still does. My maternal grandparents; however, have had a very wimpy artificial tree for as long as I can remember. Real trees are something that “makes” Christmas for me. It doesn’t need to be much. A couple boughs in a vase and I’m happy, they just need to be real.

Leave a Reply

