NaNoBloPoMo: Day 30

Yes, I know. I missed my post yesterday. Unfortunately I was busy yesterday morning and early afternoon then I had to go to my great uncle Del’s funeral and, by the time I got home, it was late and I was exhausted from virtually zero sleep the night before because I wasn’t feeling well, so I just decided to go to bed. I’ll catch up tomorrow.

I’ve said it before, I love genealogy because it always gives silver lining to situations. Not only did Del’s funeral bring our family together for a long over due family reunion, but we were there to comfort and support each other. There was also an extra silver lining for me. Del’s funeral allowed me to connect with the wife of my first cousin 2x removed. As I mentioned in an earlier post, Linus’s wife, Bonnie, was a Schommer. Her aunt Anne married my grandmother Betty’s uncle Carl Johnson. Bonnie and I spent a great deal of time talking about her aunt and uncle, people I was never blessed with the opportunity to meet. I was also able to see pictures of my great grandfather Louis Wittmann as well as his mother Hazel Wolf and her mother Wilhelmenia Kruger. I’d never seen pictures of these three before so I very much enjoyed getting to see the family resemblance between them and people that I know.

Today, the silver linings kept coming. I connected with Bonnie and her daughter Sara (who’s birthday is also 9/19, just a different year) on Facebook and proceeded to spend the next several hours talking to her about family history and lots of other topics. She also helped me connect to other Wittmans (they spell their surname with 1 N). I returned the favor by cyber introducing her to Del’s grandson Josh. This some how turned into a discussion about sushi and other random things. I then noticed that Josh is FB friends with a guy named Beau Schommer so I asked how he know Beau. Turns out that Beau is Josh’s half brother. I, of course, couldn’t resist trying to find out if his father (Josh’s step dad) is related to Bonnie and my great-great aunt Anne. Turns out that Beau’s grandfather, Jerome Schommer’s father, Nicholas, and Bonnie’s grandfather, Jean-Pierre, were half brothers! Genealogy never ceases to amaze me.

So the lesson of the day is, next time life hands you a difficult situation, be open to everything around you. You never know when something that will help you cope is right around the corner.

Leave a Reply

