NaNoBloPoMo: Day 26

I love those days where you, without thinking about it, end up researching or finding something interesting about a person in your family and it just happens to be the person’s birthday, anniversary, or anniversary of their death. It makes those that have died seem like they’re with you and blessing your research. Today was one of those days.

I really don’t know much about my 3rd great grandmother, Monica Stoeger, and her family. I just know that Monica had a twin, in addition to 3 other sisters, named Francesca. I’ve also heard rumors that her father, Joseph Stoeger, was a Civil War veteran and allegedly Monica and her sisters were indentured servants in a logging camp and escaped. I spent today trying to get as much information I could on these 2 brick walls. Unfortunately these are tall, thick walls and I’m still clueless. I’ve said many times that the biggest oxymoron about genealogy is that you may be able to research another person’s family and trace back to the 1700s and even futher, but your own family tree can have some serious brick walls. So the search continues. But, while I was researching, it dawned on me that today is my 3x great-grandmother and my 3x great-aunt’s birthday! They were born on Nov. 26th. 1829 and would have been 183. So HAPPY BIRTHDAY GRANDMA MONICA AND AUNT FRANCESCA! I wish I had been able to know you in this life and pray that I’ll be able to learn many things about you and your family in the near future.

How do you celebrate the birthdays of those relatives that have passed?

GIVING TUESDAY! 20% of the cost of all consultations booked tomorrow as well as the revenue of the subsequent contracts signed will go to support my friend Steve’s non-profit Needle2Square and his efforts to raise funds for Uzima Outreach. For more info, visit http://www.facebook.com/Needle2Square and http://www.needle2square.com

Leave a Reply

