NaNoBloPoMo: Day 14

Seeing as today is World Diabetes Day, I thought I’d talk about someone in my family that died from complications of diabetes. My great aunt, June Schneider, was my paternal grandfather’s older sister. Unfortunately, I don’t know much about her. I know that she was very young when she died, although I’m not sure exactly when. I know she died very suddenly just before Christmas.  Her husband and daughter are now both deceased and my grandfather’s memory is fading. My dad remembers her, but all he can really tell me is he liked going over there because there was always fruit and candy that my grandparents couldn’t afford. Beyond missing the opportunity to meet her, the loss of her is sad because that would have been one more person that knew my great-grandparents. I know my grandfather lived with them as well, but every perspective is different and I’m sure they each would have told me different things

I think this may be one of those times where tracing the families of in-laws will prove to come in handy. If her husband Lavern had siblings and they had children, they’d be approximately my father’s age and there’s a good chance they’d remember their aunt June. We’re taught that “the shortest distance between two points is a straight line”, well the person who proved this theory obviously wasn’t a genealogist. Sometimes you need to take detours and go the long way to obtain the information you’re looking for. This, of course, provides for extra opportunities to learn interesting facts and opportunities to come across things that need more research, thus continuing the never ending cycle of genealogical research.

Leave a Reply

