NaNoBloPoMo: Day 13

Cue “It’s a Small World After All”…

It really is. And those that are aware of genealogical information are all too aware of this. I am even more so aware of this concept after this afternoon. I grew up in a church where 73% of the congregants are related to someone else in the church. While I am one of the 73%, I’m definitely one of the lesser of the intertwined church members. Except for my mother, the only people I’m related to are my maternal aunt, uncle, and cousins. My mom and aunt didn’t grow up in the church (many of our members are not only life long members, but have ancestors who were founding members), my mother and father joined the church after I was born upon my aunt’s recommendation of her feeling at home there after marrying my uncle Jeff. Once I started doing family research, I did find a family connection (although not blood relation)…

But more on that later. Tonight’s blog is about my latest discovery.  This afternoon my mother and I went out to lunch with my aunt and their parents, after which we went over to my grandparents’ house. My grandmother wanted my mom to look at some paperwork regarding the spelling variation of her name on different papers and the repercussions it might have, especially after she dies… again more on that later. As I was flipping through the paperwork, I came across the death certificates for my mother’s maternal grandparents, Arthur Dordel and Lydia Zill. I knew when, where, and how they died so I wasn’t expecting too much of a surprise… That is, until I looked at great-grandpa Arthur’s death certificate. At the bottom was the signature of the attending physician that pronounced him dead, a Dr. Marvin Faust, MD.  Dr. (now retired) Faust is a member of our church. 40 years ago, neither him or his (now) wife went to our church and neither did my mother or my aunt.

I love how God works all these, seemingly, random and insignificant details in the lives of people over a long period of time just so two (or more) people could be connected, even if it isn’t in the form of a marriage or biological relationship.

It is, indeed, a small world after all.

Leave a Reply

