NaNoBloPoMo: Day 10

Ok… before I say anything, I need to preface tonight’s blog saying that I am NOT promoting one belief or telling my readers what to believe. I’m not even sure what I believe on this issue. Ok, that being said…

In spite of, as I said, not knowing where I stand on the matter, I find the TV show “Celebrity Ghost Stories” very interesting, but seeing as I’ve never watched the regular “Ghost Stories” series, I have a feeling that it has more to do with celebrities than the ghosts. Anyway, I was watching it tonight and one of the segments was about, the now late, Phyllis Diller. At the age of 6 (circa 1923) she remembers being infatuated with a picture in Vogue Magazine of a woman in a white dress on a porch. Fast forward some 30 years. She’s now in Hollywood in her nice house. This house was an older house with a porch. One night, Ms. Diller was allegedly on her porch when she saw a mist followed by a very faint image of a woman, the same woman in the picture she saw as a childhood. According to her, the woman would occasionally appear to her on the porch and was still doing so at the time the episode aired.

Regardless of if Ms. Diller’s story is true, this woman exists so I’m quite interested in who she was, where she was from, and how she died. I attempted to do an internet search to locate the picture, but found nothing. Since that didn’t work, I decided to see what the Vogue Magazine website would give me. To my surprise, there’s an option to sign up to be able to view the entire Vogue archive back to 1892. Unfortunately, also to my surprise, they want $3,200 to give me that permission. I’ve heard “a picture is worth a thousand words”, but that’s insane. I’ve e-mailed the magazine in hopes that they will understand and give me the information that I’m looking for. I’ll follow up when I get a response back.

VETERAN’S DAY SALE ALERT! ALL VETERANS OR CURRENT SERVICE PERSONS OR THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS (DOESN’T DOESN’T MATTER WHAT RELATION) TO E-MAIL ME AT ITFGENEALOGY@GMAIL.COM BETWEEN 12AM AND 11:59PM ON SUNDAY NOVEMBER 11TH, 2012 WILL GET A FREE CONSULATION AND 11% PERCENT OFF ALL CONTRACT SERVICES! THANK YOU FOR YOUR SERVICE!

Leave a Reply

