NaNoBloPoMo: Day 7

Inevitably the love of genealogy can be a mixed blessings. Often you find exciting information about your ancestors or living relatives, but also there are things you find that are sad or troubling… ancestors who committed crimes, children put into orphanages when one or more parents die, the death of a small child, etc.

While not your average genealogical heart drop, I had a similar experience yesterday. While reading the obituaries yesterday, I came across one for a man Paul Depies. 20 years ago, a woman named Laurie with the same last name went missing in our area. Laurie has never been found and no one has been charged with her disappearance, although someone has admitted to her murder.

My heart dropped to see this last name in the paper once again. I don’t know if Paul and Laurie are related (based on the obituary, I know he wasn’t her father or grandfather), but even the possibility brought tears to my eyes. I know that it’s a fact of life that people die, especially when you’re 91 as this man was, but this family has already been through so much pain, I can’t imagine them going through any more. I’m going to try to connected these to Depies families and will keep my blog readers updated.

 

Have you ever read anything in a paper (past or present) related to someone in your family that made your heart drop?

Leave a Reply

