NFH Month: Day 29

NFH Month Celebration #29:

Ugh. I am so sick of having to go to funerals. Don’t get me wrong, I love the opportunity to bless someone who’s going through a difficult time, but I would much rather not have people I care about going through rough times to give me that opportunity. 3 in the past 7 days. They say things happen in 3s so I was hoping to be done for a while, but I just found out that a member of the Coonen family, Leo Coonen, died on Fri. He lived in Kansas City, MO but since I know his family, he’s still on my list. He has a lot of family still in the area and his nephew, Peter, goes to my church. However, as is usually the case of having loved ones pass away, I was able to locate his obituary and use that information to grow my family tree. Again, I’d rather do that by other means, but I’m thankful for that silver lining.

NFH Month Fun Fact #29

According to the 1900 census, Leo’s father Henry (who was the nephew of my great-great grandfather Michael Wittmann’s first wife Mary Coonen) lived next door to my great-great uncle Bernard Micke who was the brother of my great-great grandmother, Anna Micke (Michael’s 2nd wife).While I love those that live near me, I’ve always hated living in a rural community. That being said, since I became interested in genealogy, I’ve come to realize that a smaller community provides much more interesting genealogical findings.

 

Do people tend to pass away in groups, several people in a short span of time, in your family?

 

 

Leave a Reply

